4:55 pm

From the Red Journal

March 31, 2017

I’m on the beach outside of Something Good (a restaurant) and I saw a whole pod of dolphins swim past. That’s a good sign for the people doing the Ironman tomorrow. Dolphins mean that there are no sharks. It’s getting a little less summery every day, and the sun sets earlier each night. PE is packed with ironman athletes and their families, they fill up hotels on both side of Campus Key. At night if you look up into the windows, you can see the outlines of bikes in the windows. Fourteen stories of people crazy enough to swim bike and run for hours on end.Today on my walk back from University I saw a lot of people on fancy bikes. The race starts at 6:30 am tomorrow. I might get up to watch,  there is supposed ceremonies and a cultural send off for the racers. It should be interesting to watch. I’m worried that I won’t get to see everything on my list. I haven’t been to Cape Town or Durban yet and the trip is already half over. I better start planning.

Olivia

Leave a Reply

